24 Heures du Mans 2011

The #2 (LM P1) Audi Sport Team Joest Audi R18 TDI driven by Marcel Fässler, André Lotterer and Benoit Treluyer fought its way to a magnificent win of the 79′th runing of the legendary 24 Hours of Le Mans 2011.

The winning car defeated a concerted effort from rivals Peugeot as the last Audi on track after two huge crashes removed its sister cars from contention before midnight on Saturday.

It was a remarkable victory for the team’s new R18, which has run competitively only once before and was the German marque’s 10th win here since 2000, putting it ahead of Ferrari and behind only Porsche in Le Mans victories. But sadly there was to be no fairytale finish for local hero Henri Pescarolo, who’s very entry in the race was remarkable in itself.

Motorsport Photography by Klearpics – Sheyi Afolabi